Aces wild: 8 Cy Young winners start Opening Day


Eight former Cy Young Award winners are scheduled to start Opening Day next Thursday, including a matchup between reigning National League winner Sandy Alcantara and three-time honoree Max Scherzer, whose New York Mets travel to face the Miami Marlins.

Major League Baseball teams announced their Opening Day starters Friday as part of an effort by the league to gin up interest in the first game of a transformative season in which the game will include a pitch clock.

The slate features several first-class duels — and will include two-time winner Jacob deGrom, whose debut with the Texas Rangers was in doubt after tightness in his left side delayed his first spring training start. Philadelphia Phillies ace Aaron Nola, fresh off a World Series appearance, will get his sixth consecutive Opening Day start — the longest current active streak — and oppose the two-time Cy Young winner in a pairing of longtime NL East foes.

Nine teams had announced their starters before Friday. That list includes the Los Angeles Angels, with Shohei Ohtani coming off his World Baseball Classic MVP award, as well as the New York Yankees and San Francisco Giants, who will pit Gerrit Cole against Logan Webb.

Some of the other best matchups include:

Among the other Cy Young winners who will kick off their team’s season:

Atlanta‘s Max Fried and Washington‘s Patrick Corbin both will start for the third time on Opening Day as the Nationals host the Braves. The rest of the matchups feature at least one pitcher commencing the season for the first time:

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Monahan called ‘hypocrite’ by golfers in meeting
Celta edge Barca to beat drop, Valladolid down
Sale moves to 60-day IL with shoulder injury
Chicharito suffers torn ACL; set to miss season
Timothy Bradley Jr.: A letter to my younger self as I get inducted into the Boxing Hall of Fame

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *